2017 Awards

Celebrating inspiration & success.
July 2017, Birmingham, UK

In association with

The Education Awards was first of its kind in the Midlands Region last year.

It’s a night to celebrate and reward the most outstanding contributors to the Education Sector.

A total of 16 awards are contended for.

For a chance to get recognised for all the hard work that goes into Education nominate now.

Education plays a vital role in supporting and growing the local community. These awards are a great way of recognising that contribution. The importance of good education is what transforms lives and local communities.

The Education Awards identifies and celebrates establishments, people and organisations that go above and beyond to promote excellence within our education System.

We are working hard with our sponsors to develop projects that will be placed directly back into education.

We look forward to seeing you all on the 6th of July 2018 to celebrate and reward our outstanding contributors to the Education Sector.

2017 Award photos

2017 Education Awards

2017 Awards photos

Our 2017 Sponsors

The Process


1. Nominate

The closing date for all entries was on the 19th May 2017.


2. Judging

A panel of independent judges reviewed the shortlist and agreed on one winner for each individual category.


3. One great night

The winners for each category were announced on the 7th July 2017 at Edgbaston Cricket Ground – Birmingham.

Our 2017 Keynote Speakers

Andy Street

Andy Street

Keynote Speaker

A proud Brummie, Andy Street has combined a career with John Lewis, Britain’s most successful workers’ co-operative, with a host of high-profile economic development roles, working with the local and national government.

Starting on the John Lewis graduate scheme, Andy rose through the ranks to become Managing Director, overseeing one of the most successful periods in the company’s history.

He was the Chair of the Greater Birmingham & Solihull Local Enterprise Partnership between 2011 and 2016, helping to build the relationships that have underpinned the economic growth of the region.

Additionally, he has been a lead non-executive director for the Department for Communities and Local Government as well as a member of the Prime Minister’s Business Advisory Group.

Outside of work, Andy is passionate about the arts, particularly in the West Midlands. He is Vice Chairman of Performances Birmingham Limited, which is responsible for running the City’s Symphony and Town Halls.

In June 2015, Andy was awarded the CBE for services to the national economy. He was named the ‘Most Admired Leader’ of the year by business magazine, Management Today in 2014. He received the ‘President’s Award’ from the Greater Birmingham Chambers of Commerce in for his work in the region. He holds three honorary degrees, from Birmingham City University, Aston University and the University of Birmingham.

Paul Faulkner

Keynote Speaker

Our 2017 Winners and Finalists

Educational Support of the Year

British Sikh School
Aston University – WINNER
First Class Legacy

Headteacher / Principal Dean of the Year

Leigh Perry – DMS Heart of England Music Academy
Lowell Williams – Dudley College – WINNER
Professor George Feiger – Aston Business school

Teacher / Lecturer of the Year

Colin Hughes – Peterbrook School
Marc Rowe – Peterbrook School – WINNER
Professor Mark Hart

Transforming Lives through Partnerships

Chris Meah – School of code – WINNER
Washwood Heath Academy
Midland Metro Alliance

Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative

Birmingham City University
Envison UK – WINNER
Aston Business School – Aston centre for growth

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Standing Ovation – Anthony Daulphin – WINNER
Senad Group

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

Sally Alexander – Kimichi School – WINNER
Ravinder Sahota – Highclare School
Juggy Rihal – Masterclass

Outstanding Support for Students

Learner Enhancement Team – Aston University – WINNER
Juliet C – Seeker Education
Debbie Shaw – Peterbrook School – HIGHLY COMMENDED

Outstanding Primary School

Hockley Heath Academy – WINNER
Peterbrook Primary School
Ravensdale Primary School

Outstanding International School

University of Birmingham – WINNER
University of Warwick

Most Innovative Contribution to Business - Education Collaboration

David Chapman – Aston University Engineering Academy – WINNER
Samantha Fisher – Wonder Why Society
A E Oscroft and sons ltd

Entrepreneurial Education Establishment of the Year

Chris Meah School of Code
Aston Business School

Further Education College of the Year

Open Study College – WINNER
Cadbury College
City College Coventry

Proactive Educational Provider of an Apprenticeship Programme

Primary Goal ltd
Pathway Group
Creative Alliance – WINNER

University of the Year

University of Warwick
Aston University
University of Birmingham – WINNER

Lifetime Achievement

Professor George Feiger– Aston Business school
Professor Mark Hart – Aston Business School
David Prescott – Cambridge Assessment – WINNER

Nominations are now closed

Shortlisting has now begun for the award categories.

View categories